Museums at Drakesville Historic Park
The Museums at Drakesville Historic Park are cultural gems exploring the history of Roxbury Township and set along the corridor of the landmark Morris Canal.
The King Store is a two-and-a-half-story stone building that was built around 1827. In addition to being a general store for locals and passing boat crews, it was also the local post office and polling place. This is one of the most intact historical stores along the 102-mile canal corridor.
Around 1881, Theodore and Emily King built their home in what is now the King House Museum. This Queen Ann and Italianate style home shows how life was lived back then through historically accurate furnishings and décor. The museum has two special exhibit rooms: one dedicated to the hidden heritage of the Lenape Native Americans who lived in this area, and another called “Miss Louise’s School Room,” which depicts a typical 1900s Roxbury Township classroom in the one-room schoolhouses of the time.
Of Special Note:
• Both the King Store and the King House are listed on the New Jersey and National Registers of Historic Places
• The ground floor walls of the King Store are three feet thick
• The museum features a unique four-wall pastoral mural by English artist James Marland