- WHERE TO stay
- THINGS TO see & do
- WHERE TO eat & drink
- CALENDAR OF events
- REQUEST A visitors guide
Mount Tabor was established in 1869 as one of the state’s first Methodist summer camp meetings. Later, the area transformed into a neighborhood of permanent, fanciful Victorian residences and colorful gingerbread houses. The Mount Tabor Camp Meeting Museum is set in the J. Smith Richardson History House, a unique triple cottage originally built in 1873. Visitors step back in time as soon as they enter this charming townhouse-style building, which gives a glimpse of what life was like during summer camp meetings in the cottage.
The Mount Tabor Historical Society hosts an annual self-guided house tour every fall, which showcase the colorful gingerbread houses that line these hilly roads.
Of Special Note:
• Some pieces of the original tents from the Methodist summer camp are still visible
• J. Smith Richardson was the treasurer of the Camp Meeting Association for 22 years
• Evelyn Blackford Clark, a descendent of J. Richardson Smith, willed her section of the triple cottage to the Historical Society