Little Red Schoolhouse & Museum
Florham Park’s iconic Little Red Schoolhouse was built in 1866 at a cost of $2,250. Its open belfry and gable-end entrance instantly identify it as a typical 19th century one-room schoolhouse. The Italianate one-story narrow red brick masonry building is an architectural marvel with its steep roof, tall windows and elaborate arches.
Inside, part of the museum is set up as a 19th century classroom, where small groups can enjoy a lecture. The museum has a variety of artifacts from the 1800s and 1900s, vintage school desks and broom-making equipment. Its location at the historic crossroads of Florham Park has remained a key reminder of the borough’s rural origins. The schoolhouse is a stop each fall on the free “Pathways of History” event.
Of Special Note:
• In 1978, the schoolhouse was moved back several yards to accommodate the expanded Columbia Turnpike
• The schoolhouse is also known as Columbia School District No. 5 Schoolhouse
• The schoolhouse is the borough’s icon, appearing on the town flag, letter head, website, and public works and first responder vehicles